Group Members

We are always looking for new students (PhD and MSc/MEng) and post-docs to join the team (see openings)

Director

Prof. Wen-Hua Chen

w.chen@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Professor in Autonomous Vehicles
    Expertise: Unmanned vehicle, situational awareness, decision making, disturbance observer, model predictive control
    Links: Homepage, View Google Scholar profile


Centre Academic Member

Dr. Matthew Coombes

m.j.coombes@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Lecture in Autonomous Vehicles
    Expertise: Autonomous vehicles which include unmanned aerial system forced landing, situational awareness, autonomous taxiing, mission planning optimization
    Links: Homepage

Dr. Jingjing Jiang

j.jiang2@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Senior Lecturer in Intelligent Mobility and Autonomous Vehicles
    Expertise: Shared-Control (i.e. Human-machine interactions), development of advanced driver assistant system (ADAS), autonomous vehicles, traffic control
    Links: Homepage

Dr. James Knowles

J.A.C.Knowles@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Senior Lecturer in Dynamics and Control
    Expertise: Applications of Numerical Continuation to investigations of engineering systems, mathematical modelling and analysis of dynamical systems, vehicle dynamics
    Links: Homepage

Dr. Chengyuan Liu

c.liu10@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Lecturer in Safety-Critical Control
    Expertise: Safety-critical control and intelligent control for autonomous vehicles and robots
    Links: Homepage

Prof. Cunjia Liu

c.liu5@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Professor of Robotics and Autonomous Systems
    Expertise: Novel perception and decision algorithms for robotic and autonomous system and their applications in security, industry and agriculture domains
    Links: Homepage

Dr. Georgios Mavros

g.mavros@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Reader in Intelligent Mobility and Vehicle Dynamics
    Expertise: Thermo-mechanical and structural tyre modelling, tyre testing and model parameter identification, vehicle dynamics and control
    Links: Homepage

Dr. Thomas Steffen

t.steffen@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Reader in Control of Energy Systems
    Expertise: Electrification and control of hybrid vehicles, and the integration with the connected/autonomous vehicle
    Links: Homepage

Dr. Jun Yang

j.yang3@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Reader in Autonomous and Electric Vehicles
    Expertise: Disturbance observer, motion control, visual servoing, nonlinear control, and autonomous systems
    Links: Homepage

Dr. Yuanjian Zhang

y.y.zhang@lboro.ac.uk

    Title: Lecturer in Intelligent Electric Vehicles
    Expertise: New generation clean propulsion control and optimisation, digital modelling and simulation, intelligent transportation system and artificial intelligence (AI) in engineering practice.
    Links: Homepage


Research Associates

Dr. Shengkai Guo

s.guo2@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: PhD in
    Research:

Dr. Rohit Nanavati

r.nanavati@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: PhD in
    Research:

Dr. Pramod Pashupathy

p.pashupathy@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: PhD in
    Research:

Dr. Guoqiang Tan

g.tan@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: PhD in
    Research: DCEE

Dr. Toa Tran

x.tran@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: PhD in
    Research:

Dr. Yuefei Zuo

y.zuo@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: PhD in
    Research:


PhD Students

Edward Cefai

e.cefai@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: BA, MSc, MRes in
    Research:

Mal Fazliu

m.fazliu2@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: BA, MSc, MRes in
    Research: DCEE

Tim Glover

t.glover@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: BA, MSc, MRes in
    Research: DCEE

Zijian Ge

z.ge@lboro.ac.uk

    Education: MEng in
    Research:

Siyuan Li

s.li8@lboro.ac.uk

    Education:
    Research:

Yimeng Li

y.li12@lboro.ac.uk

    Education:
    Research:

Ben Marshall

b.sullivan@lboro.ac.uk

    Education:
    Research:

Ben Sullivan

b.sullivan@lboro.ac.uk

    Education:
    Research:

Siyang Tang

s.tang@lboro.ac.uk

    Education:
    Research:

Xinming Wang

t.yang@lboro.ac.uk

    Education:
    Research:

Yalei Yu

y.yu2@lboro.ac.uk

    Education:
    Research: Dual control for exploitation and exploration with applications on industrial robots.

Zheyu Zhang

z.zhang8@lboro.ac.uk

    Education:
    Research:


Alumni

Dr. Xuefang Wang

Lecture in control engineering

    Education: PhD in control theory and control engineering
    Current Institute: University of Leicester

Dr. Yang Liu

Lecture Lecturer in Robotics and Autonomous Systems

    Education: PhD in control science and engineering
    Current Institute: University of Huddersfield

Dr. Callum Rhodes

Research associate

    Education: PhD in automotive engineering
    Current Institute: Imperial College London

Dr. Yunda Yan

Lecture in robotics and AI

    Education: PhD in control science and engineering
    Current Institute: University College London

Dr. Zhongguo Li

Lecture in robotics, control, communication and AI

    Education: PhD in electrical and electronic engineering
    Current Institute: University of Manchester

Dr. Hyondong Oh

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute: Ulsan National Institue of Science and Technology

Dr. Sujit Baliyarasimhuni

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Bhopal

Dr. CRistiano Premebida

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute: University of Science and Technology Beijing

Dr. Andy Pickering

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. Bowen Lu

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. Fanlin Meng

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. James Dunthorne

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. William Eaton

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. Runxiao Ding

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. Shuo Liu

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. Jean Smith

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. Michael Hutchinson

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. Pawel Ladosz

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. Yali Xu

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute: Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Prof. Yunfeng Cao

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute: Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Dr. Songyin Cao

Associate Researcher

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute: Yangzhou University

Dr. Zhenhua Zhao

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in control theory and control engineering
    Current Institute: Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Dr. Hao Lu

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Prof. Zhengping Feng

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute:

Dr. Kang Wu

Lecture in

    Education: PhD in
    Current Institute: